Posted by: spinnyknitter | November 1, 2011

Shakespeare in Lace Club

September and October kind of tiptoed past me while I wasn’t paying attention this year.  And now it is November and I can’t quite believe it.

One thing that has kept me busy working is a design project for the 2012 Shakespeare in Lace Accessories Club.  I was lucky enough to be asked to design a shawlette for this club and it has been such fun.

The theme is historic Elizabethans and I am using Elizabeth 1 as the inspiration for my design, which will be for the January Kit.   To research my topic I sifted through a lot of dry facts on the web.  And then I went to the Video Store.  Wow, I watched these two movies twice each and I was absolutely enthralled with them.  The second one, here covers the latter years of Elizabeth’s long reign as Queen.  The first one, here, covers the early years.  Yes, there were historical inaccuracies in both but they are such epic movies that I didn’t care.  Cate Blanchett gave me a living breathing Elizabeth and was the inspiration that I had been looking for.

And that is all of the story that I can tell you for now.  You will have to wait until January to see the photos and hear the rest of the details.

The price for the club is very reasonable and imagine the fun of getting a surprise package in the mail every few months!  Check out the details at the above Ravelry link or at the website for Wooly Wonka Fiber and come join us while we knit our way through history!

In the meantime, if you are curious and you have some mindless knitting you want to power through, I highly recommend a big bowl of popcorn, your knitting and the above two movies for a very satisfyingly long autumn afternoon.

September is always a busy time of year for me.  I have a new schedule of Knitting Classes at the shop to organize, and I usually take some vacation time in the fall because it is my favourite time of year.  This year we spent a long weekend in Osoyoos, which is in southern BC.  Desert country, it was hot and dry and we had a lovely time.  It is also wine country and we spent a relaxing afternoon and evening touring wineries and having dinner at the last on the tour, Burrowing Owl.  It was really great to get away.

Also in September I finished up a few WIP while on my road trip.   First I finished my Tiny Tea Leaves cardigan for my granddaughter.  I had yarn left over so I improvised a little hat with a crocheted flower to go with.  Still yarn left, not enough for mittens but just enough for little fingerless gloves which I also improvised.

The color looks really good on her and it’s a little bit big, which is what I was going for, as I wanted it to fit her most of the winter.  If you want details, you’ll find it on my project page on Ravelry.

Next up I finally finished my Dahlia cardigan and it is my new favourite sweater.  I used Ultra Alpaca Light and it is so warm and cozy, I absolutely love it.

Sometimes a sweater project can seem to go on forever and loses its charm half way through.  Not the case with this pattern.  I have to say that I enjoyed every bit of the knitting of this sweater.  With clever, interesting construction, the lace panel on the back is where you begin and it was fun to knit.  Then once you get the top and bottom of the back sorted out you have some lovely mindless knitting on the fronts, perfect for car or television knitting.  Of course, part of the charm of this project was the yarn.  The Ultra Alpaca Light was so nice to work with that it made the whole project enjoyable, even some potentially boring bits.

This was a heavier yarn than called for in the pattern, so I did a little improvising to get the right size and I added length as well.  But this pattern is actually very easy to adjust.  The key measurements are the back width (between sleeve openings), the sleeve width and the length.  The width of the fronts can be adjusted as you knit them.  More details on my Ravelry project page here.  I am very tempted to start another one……if only it wasn’t November already!

Responses

  1. Superbes!! Both projects are beautiful.

  2. I ADORE the design you worked up for Elizabeth! And those movies are a ton of fun. The costumes alone are worth the price of admission IMHO.

    • Thank you so much, both of you! And I totally agree about the movies :)

  3. Both projects are beautiful, and I saw the Dahlia Sweater in “real life” today and it is stunning! I’ll watch those movies while eating popcorn, but if I try and work on a project too I’ll likely mess up with my butter fingers…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

