Posted by: spinnyknitter | March 30, 2012

Yorkshire Shawl

March has been a crazy month for me!  But I really wanted to get this pattern published before the end of the month and here it is, just under the wire!

Yorkshire Shawl is a triangular shawl worked from the top down and features a delicate lace pattern and simple border.  The shawl has a wider wingspan with increases on every row.  It is easily adjusted to any yarn quantity by changing the number of repeats worked in the main pattern stitch.

I’ve knit a second sample which is more scarf sized, blocked measurements are 38 inches by 16 deep.  I wanted to see if I could get it out of one skein of Malabrigo Finito and I just made it!  I did three repeats of the main pattern and finished up with just 2 grams left.  More details on my project page on Ravelry.  This yarn is fabulous, feels like cashmere and goes farther than you think it will.

The main sample is shawl sized, it blocked out to 54 inches by 22 inches deep.  I used Sweet Fiber Sweet Merino Lite a gorgeous merino yarn hand dyed by the talented Melissa, owner of Sweet Fiber The colorway is called Tea Leaves.  It’s so pretty, with subtle undertones of blues and greens, it is what inspired the name of the shawl and I must confess, I was also watching Downton Abbey at the time too!  The stitch pattern and the color reminded me of the huge trees shown in the outdoor shots at the Abbey.

Yorkshire Shawl is on sale on Ravelry today.

Responses

  1. Very nice work. Love the design. Bravo… ! I put it in my favorites.

    • Thank you, Chantal!

  2. I love the colors and the pattern, nice combination!

    • Thanks Brigi!

  3. [...] for me my friend  Judy Marples just happened to release a new pattern last week and just happened to bring it by the shop while I was working to put it in the display [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

