Posted by: spinnyknitter | May 14, 2013

Vigneto Shawl

Here I am, back in Italy (well, in my imagination at least) with a new pattern for you. This design reminded me of rows and rows of perfectly groomed grapevines and the leafy foliage that is produced on the vines.  I searched and found a fitting name, Vigneto, which in Italian means vineyard.

DSC_0048 - Version 2

Vigneto Shawl is slightly asymmetrical and completely adjustable to your size requirements and to your available yardage.  Both the striped texture stitch at the beginning of the shawl and the leafy border pattern may be repeated any number of times.  The pattern begins at one wingtip with the striped texture stitch (the rows of grapevines) and ends at the other wingtip with the leafy border.  When worn, the rows of grapevines curve becomingly around your shoulders and then sprout into the leafy lace pattern.

DSC_0008-2

The lace border features an unusual textured stitch.  I searched online to find any mention of this stitch and I couldn’t find a thing.  I didn’t want anyone to have trouble visualizing how this stitch is done so I produced a little video on the technique.

The first sample I knit using Dream in Color Smooshy in the colorway Scorched Lime.  I did Chart A (the striped texture) only 8 times and worked Chart B (the leafy lace border) 6 times, for maximum lace effect.  Love this yarn, it has just the right amount of bounce and body for this project.

DSC_0012-2

DSC_0014

The second sample I knit in an old favourite that never disappoints, Tosh Merino Light in the colorway Saffron.  Can’t you just see the sun setting over the vineyard??

I wanted to experiment a bit, so I knit Chart A 11 times, making a deeper striped texture section and I was still able to knit 3 repeats of the lace border.

DSC_0011

I’m not sure which I like best, they both have their own charms.

DSC_0017

Check out my project pages here and here for more details on sizes, yardage, etc.

Vigneto Shawl is available today on Ravelry here.

Ciao!

Responses

  1. Beautiful! Because I can’t decide which color I like better, I will, obviously, have to knit both of them!!

    • I like your attitude :)

  2. What a lovely pattern! I will head back to Ravelry and buy a copy. The hard part will be deciding on what colour of Tosh Merino Light to use.

    • Thank you! And I totally agree on choosing colors, always the hard part!

  3. Congratulations on your new design! It’s as beautiful as your other creations, love it!

    • Thanks so much, Bezencilla!

  4. This is such a lovely shawl. I’ve just finished it for a friend but can’t share it on Ravelry yet because she might see it before she’s supposed to!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

