Posted by: spinnyknitter | July 25, 2013

Summer Moon Shawl

This new design was inspired by the gorgeous summer weather and the yarns.  Combined they just begged to be a semi circular shawl, I’m so glad I listened.

DSC_0001version2

Summer Moon is top down construction and very easy to adjust in size.  The deep lace border repeat may be worked up to 10 times making this stress free knitting.

The large version measures 54 inches wide by 22 inches deep and features Dream in Color Smooshy.  I used 2 skeins of the colorway Sundown Orchid and had plenty of yarn to knit the full 10 repeats.  This colorway is beautiful with slight variegations of plum that remind me of a summer’s evening with the moon reflected on the water.  It was lovely to work with and is becoming a favourite of mine.  Did you look at the colorways??  Spectacular!

DSC_0008

DSC_0004

The smaller yellow version is knit using Sweet Georgia Tough Love Sock in the colorway Lemon Curd.  With one skein I was able to knit Chart B five times and ended up with a shawl measuring 44 inches wide by 18 inches deep.   What a color, I smile every time I see it.  But then all of Sweet Georgia’s colors make me smile.

DSC_0020-2

DSC_0020

The lace patterns are easy with patterning only on the right side rows and they both knit up quickly.

DSC_0009

Keeping with the theme, here is a favourite video of mine, made 20 years ago.

.

Summer Moon is available for purchase on Ravelry.  I hope you are enjoying a wonderful summer.  Go outside this evening and dance in the moonlight.  If you get chilly, put on a shawl and keep dancing!

Responses

  1. they are both beautiful-you are so talented! When I again have a printer I am going to buy the pattern and the frutteto as well

    • Thank you, Pam :)

  2. Once again – a beautiful shawl. Judy I loved the link to the Harvest Moon song. When I buy this one I have a very difficult decision to make. Which of the 3 new patterns do I knit first???!!!

    • Thank you, Mary!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

