Posted by: spinnyknitter | October 2, 2013

Eccentric Cowl

I love starting the month off with a new pattern!  Here is Eccentric Cowl available in my pattern shop on Ravelry.

Eccentric cowl is knit in the round with no seams.  I have designed it in two sizes but really, you could make any size you’d like, directions are included in the pattern.

I wanted to design a cowl that would have drape and be warm but without a lot of bulk.  So I turned to my favourite weight of yarn – fingering weight.  This weight also makes up a huge part of my stash so I didn’t have to go far for yarn.

The small size is a nice single loop of warmth around your neck.  Shown here in Wollmeise Pure Merino in one of the “we’re different” oranges that I scored from their website.  This seems like the perfect color for fall, it’s such a vibrant orange.

DSC_0010

When you get tired of wearing it as a cowl, it may also be worn as a small scarf which could be tucked inside your coat on a really cold day.

DSC_0039

When I first started knitting the large size, i thought I had made it too large.  But now it is finished and blocked I am so in love with the size!  Shown here in Tosh Merino Light in the colorway Composition Book Grey, 2 skeins.  Loop it around the neck twice with a twist for easy drape and warmth.

DSC_0042

You could also wear it with the tube flat (2 layers) in a variety of other eccentric ways.  Shown here with the neck opening around the shoulders.

DSC_0005

DSC_0007

And folded in half again and worn as a cozy scarf.
DSC_0008

Or looped around the neck in many different configurations.

DSC_0034

Pull it on over the shoulders.  Here’s a look at how large the tube really is!

DSC_0024

Keep it on as above but use your favourite shawl pin to come up with some more ways to wear it.

DSC_0031A

DSC_0032

I think this might be my favourite thing to wear this winter.  I’m so glad that I made it in this lovely grey neutral that will go with everything but I’m already thinking of a second version in greens or browns.

The lace pattern is simple to work and every second round is a plain knit round, so it knits up quite quickly considering the size.  And the pattern includes both charts and written instructions for the lace.

I hope you love it as much as I do!  Eccentric Cowl available today on Ravelry.

Responses

  1. That is gorgeous! I love the Lacey zig zags, and a long cowl is always the best for winter… Too bad it’s coming into summer where I am, but I’m definitely putting this on my list to be ready next winter!!

    • Thank you, Sophia!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

