Posted by: spinnyknitter | November 27, 2013

Lowena Cardigan

Lowena is a Cornish name meaning joy.

Lowena Cardigan is a top down child’s sweater featuring seed stitch bands and pretty lace panels up each side of the front.

DSC_0049

It has a roomy, comfortable fit and is easily customizable for sleeve and body length.  Size range is 2, [4, 6, 8] for a finished garment chest measurement of 24, [26, 28, 30] inches.

I would recommend choosing the size to fit the body of your child and then adjusting the length of the sleeves and/or body for a truly custom fitted knit.  One of my favourite things about top down sweaters is the ability to try it on as you go.  So if you have your child handy it will be a piece of cake to get a superb fit.

My little model loves her top down, it’s so comfortable when running and playing.   She can have fun without any seams to rub or constrict.

DSC_0066

DSC_0074

The yarn I’ve chosen for this project is Tosh Merino DK in the colorway Flashdance.  All the little girls in my life love pink and purple.  The yarn is lovely and soft and also practical as it is a superwash.

I knit by alternating 2 skeins throughout the sweater and I’m really happy with the color distribution.  I’m so glad that I did this, no crazy pooling in sight, and really, it’s not that difficult to do.  A must I think, for hand dyed yarns to really show off their beauty.

I had some wonderful test knitters on this pattern.  You can check out all the cuteness over on their project pages on Ravelry, but here’s a little sneak peak -

Coping knit up this adorable version in size two.  The solid color really makes the lace detail pop.

image_medium2

Travellers08 made this super cute version, also a size 2.  Don’t you love the buttons??

And MadeleineL whipped up this loveliness in size 6.  Gorgeous, yes??

I was very lucky to have these awesome test knitters and I want them to know how much I appreciate their efforts!  And also to Diane, who has been proofing my patterns and patiently correcting my mangled english for a while now.  Thanks so much, ladies!

This pattern also features a really great buttonhole technique that I found and adapted from The Principles of Knitting.  For small buttonholes I have always used the YO, K2Tog method and while easy to execute, I was never really happy with how they would stretch out after being used for awhile.  Then I came across this buttonhole.  The directions were for stocking stitch so I adapted it to fit my seed stitch borders and I love it.  It’s not difficult but a bit more involved than the YO, K2Tog, but so worth the little extra effort.

Lowena Cardigan is available for purchase on Ravelry.  Do you have a little girl in your life who would like one?

Responses

  1. I wish there were a LOVE option for this beauty….as I do love it ! I don’t have any little people of any sort in my world, but I would have really enjoyed this sweater as a child.
    Your model is a beautiful little girl, and obviously is enjoying her custom-made sweater.

    • Thanks so much, Melissa!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

