Posted by: spinnyknitter | January 3, 2010

Where did December go?

December ended up being a very busy month for my family.  Malabrigo Baby arrived at the beginning of the month!  And she’s a girl!  So much for my intuition…..you’ll remember I was knitting a lot of blue Malabrigo earlier.  She is adorable and looks really good in blue.  I did do some emergency gender knitting the day after she was born and made another Mossy in Malabrigo colorway shocking pink, which I thought totally appropriate given the circumstances.

I started Bridgewater in Malabrigo Lace Polar Morn.

But first I knit Citron from the winter issue of Knitty with what else, Malabrigo lace.  This made the perfect christmas knitting, mindless and soothing.

I spent most of December quilting which was quite different for me.  I made quilts for the kids in the family.  First I made my one year old granddaughter this quilt…….

She is bubbly and inquisitive.

Then I made my ten year old grandson this one……

He is bright and loves art and drawing as well as computer games.

And last but not least, I made my new three week old granddaughter this one…..

She is quiet and serene.

Oh, and that should be the last of the blurry photos because Santa brought me a new camera.  I’m still practising and don’t know any of the settings but that will come in time.

And since New Year’s Eve, I have been playing with this…..

I am burning through my stash at a giddy speed and I love it!

Happy New Year…………

Responses

  1. I saw you favouriting all these woven scarves…. I fugred you might be rigid heddle weaving. 🙂 It’s fun, isn’t it???

  2. The quilts are gorgeous, Judy, lucky grandchildren. I am sure they will treasure them for years to come.

  3. those quilts are gorgeous!

  4. You’ve got some wonderful works!

    I do have to inquire about the beautiful Citron piece. Any tips are to what they mean by “turn the work 90 degrees…”?

    Thanks in advance,
    Nflux


Leave a Reply

Categories

