Posted by: spinnyknitter | January 21, 2010

Lemons into handwoven bags

I am still obsessively weaving scarves and my edges are getting better. So I had high hopes for some Lorna’s Laces yarn I dug out of my stash.  Unfortunately the yarn didn’t hold up well as warp, and I had the edge warp break several times.  On the bright side, I’m getting lots of practise replacing warp threads!  But the edges turned out, well, not really up to being seen in public.  And I learned a valuable lesson – don’t use singles for warp, they are just not strong enough.

Then I found this tutorial online at Doni’s delis and I turned the scarf into this…….

I love how this comes together.  You use every square inch of your precious woven fabric, nothing is wasted.

First I figured out the layout……

Then I trimmed the ends and sewed a zigzag stitch with my sewing machine, just to make sure the ends weren’t going anywhere.

Next I pinned the seams together because I couldn’t quite wrap my brain around how this works.  But it works beautifully and it’s quite simple once you see it pinned together and examine how the seaming works.

Decide on how long you want the handle and how deep you want the bag, I played around a bit with this before deciding.  I really liked the little fringe left at the ends so I turned them right side out and straight stitched them down on the machine to the outside of the bag.  Then I sewed it together with the seams right sides together, pressed and voila!

I am going to line this bag, as I think it will finish it off nicely and also thwart any stretching or sagging that may occur.

Now I am thinking of fabric bags and looking at my fabric stash, hmm……

Leave a Reply

Categories

