Posted by: spinnyknitter | April 26, 2010

Olive update

As I wrote in my earlier post, I’ve become a bit addicted to researching an imaginary trip that has started in Calais France.  It’s so much fun to plan a trip where money is no object, time is unlimited and the possibilities are endless.

I’ve spent the past few weeks in Calais France.  The cafes, the museums, the beaches, the countryside around Calais, it is all so beautiful.  But now it’s time to move on.  And Olive and I have decided to visit England next.  The white cliffs of Dover have been our backdrop as we’ve walked on the beach and now it’s time to go see them up close.

We’ve done a bit of advance planning and at the top of our list of things to see is this –

Dover_Castle

Isn’t it gorgeous!  I am so in love with this photo.  Ever since I first came across it in my research I have been dreaming of walking across that green, green lawn and stepping inside the cool walls of the castle.  This setting is going to be the inspiration for my next shawl pattern.  I have already designed the pattern and am now writing and working on the details.  I am also experimenting with a new graph making program so that I can have the graphs more as I would like them to be.

I hope you will stop by and take a look when my new pattern is complete.

Responses

  1. What a beautiful setting for inspiration. I can’t wait to see your shawl.

    -Victoria (oftherain on Ravelry)

  2. Take a look at Bodiam Castle too. Not far away, in Sussex. I think you’ll be inspired.


Leave a Reply

Categories

