Posted by: spinnyknitter | August 3, 2010

Heart of Wales Shawl

My new design is complete at last.  While working on this pattern I kept in mind the Celtic traditions and the beautiful countryside of Wales.

I found the perfect name when I came across the the Heart of Wales Rail Line. It runs through the centre of Wales from Swansea to Shrewbury.  As soon as I saw the photos I could imagine myself riding through the countryside quietly knitting and watching the scenery pass by my window.

The shawl is top down construction and just like it’s name sake soon becomes comfortable and rhythmic.  It has a wider wingspan with increases on every row.  The edging can be wide or narrow.  And the main pattern can be repeated any number of times.  So this is a versatile pattern that can be knit to whatever size you desire.  The photo above shows a narrow border on the red shawl and a wider one on the blue shawl.

Now for the yarn.  The red shawl is knit with Malabrigo Sock in Tiziano Red, one of my favourites.  Isn’t the colorway beautiful?

The gorgeous blue shawl is knit using Yarn Candy Sweet Fiber Cashmerino Sock in the colorway Pacific.  It’s my first time using this yarn and I absolutely love it!  It’s bouncy and springy but oh so soft on the needles.  And then it blocks like a dream.  And the color is so vibrant and alive, so perfect for this shawl.  This Hand Dyer knows her color and uses an artist’s eye when applying it.

My Heart of Wales Shawl Pattern is available for purchase on Ravelry today.

Responses

  1. I heard the story of your holiday and this shawl on another post…imagine my surprise to see it here. It is beautiful. I was trying to track down some Silken Handmaiden Fine Yarn Ireland when I found your post. I am so happy to hear that you had a lovely holiday and I hope to see the lace museum one day.

    have a good evening, Judy

  2. I’ve just purchased your Heart of Wales pattern on ravelry.com and am really looking forward to starting it tonight:)!! What I really love about your patterns (and I plan on knitting more of them) is the clarity of the lace pattern fine stitch definition the lace makes.
    Happy knitting!
    Joan a/k/a fuguestateknits on ravely


Leave a Reply

Categories

