Posted by: spinnyknitter | March 31, 2011

Paintbox Log Cabin Blanket

I just finished a long term project and I’m really happy with how it turned out.  It’s the Paint Box Log Cabin Blanket, a pattern that I came across on Ravelry last summer.  It was instant love and I had several odd balls of Noro Kureyon in my stash already.  I thought it would make a great class too, so I decided to knit up a square and plan a one day knitting class.  It became so addictive that before I knew it I had made several squares and thought I may as well keep going and make a small blanket.

We were going on a road trip soon after and the squares made perfect travel knitting, small and simple to knit but interesting at the same time.  I picked up several new colorways of Kureyon in my travels and came home with about a dozen squares completed.  I did do a class on Log Cabin Knitting and then promptly got swept away with my other fall classes and the beginning of Christmas knitting and forgot about my blanket.

The squares and the yarn have been sitting in a basket beside my chair ever since.  A few weeks ago I was looking for some easy TV knitting and started a new square.  That got me addicted all over again and I quickly finished up with sixteen squares.  It took awhile to join them all together and knit the borders but that also made great TV knitting.  I finished the last border last night and I’m in love with the blanket.

Responses

  1. I’ve got to make one! I love the colors you used. It’s beautiful.

  2. Oh-what yarn did you use for the border? I know how to do the log cabin squares but don’t know how to go about the back bordering-and that looks so sharp.

  3. That’s lovely! I would snuggle up in a comfy chair with that blanket and a good book… and my knitting… and some chocolate… and a cup of tea!


Leave a Reply

Categories

