Posted by: spinnyknitter | April 3, 2011

Skein of Geese Shawl

I have a new pattern out, it’s called the Skein of Geese Shawl.  You may think that the name is rather odd but there is reasoning behind it.  Geese flying in a V formation are called a skein of geese!  And while working on this design the stitch pattern reminded me of birds and wings and the color reminded me of the open sky, so the name just seemed right.

I live on the west coast of Canada and in the spring the geese return to my area to summer in the marshes and wetlands.  I love watching them fly overhead.

My new shawl design is shown in Handmaiden Casbah Sock, one of my favourite yarns for lace.  The blue version is shown in the colorway Topaz and the green version is shown in Cedar.

The shawl is top down construction and features an easy to memorize pattern repeat.  The size of the shawl may be easily adjusted by working more or fewer repeats of the main stitch pattern.

The green version is scarf sized and used approximately 3/4 of one skein of Casbah.

The border is very easy as well and can be worked to any depth you would like or until you run out of yarn.

My pattern is available as a Ravelry download today – here’s a direct link  Skein of Geese Shawl

I’d also like to give a huge thank you to Rose, Karen and Carol for test knitting this pattern for me.

Happy knitting…

Responses

  1. […] Skein of Geese Shawl […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

