Posted by: spinnyknitter | July 8, 2011

Amberwell Shawl

I have published my new design today, the Amberwell Shawl  The design was inspired by two things, a book and a skein of yarn.  I visited a new yarn shop a few weeks ago and fell in love with a skein of Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in the most amazing color way named Ginger.  I decided to try and design a lace project with this beautiful yarn with the flecks of golds.

I like to listen to audio books while I knit and a few years ago I had listened to Amberwell by D. E. Stevenson.  At the time I was actually spinning while listening and enjoyed it so much that I decided to listen to it again while working on this new design project.  And that’s how the shawl Amberwell came to be.  Inspired by tales of the Scottish countryside and the estate of Amberwell and it’s family.

Amberwell Shawl is a top down triangle with quick to learn stitch patterns.  And it is designed to be knit with just one skein (100 grams) of sock (fingering) yarn.   Of course you could always alter the size by knitting it with a slightly heavier yarn such as sport or dk weight and a larger needle.  (Yardage requirements will vary).  But with one skein of sock yarn you can knit the perfect size to wear as a light shoulder shawl over a summer dress or as a scarf in the colder weather.

I knit a second version using another yarn that is new to me, Shibui Knits Sock which I really liked working with.  The color is amazing, in different lights it can look grey, blue or black.  The yarn is bouncy and very easy to work with.

They both blocked out very well, the Tosh Merino Light blocked out much larger than the Shibui, partly because of the silk content and I also had more yardage in the skein to work with.  I’m very happy with both versions.

Another huge thank you to the test knitters who helped me with this project, Sophie, Teresa, Carol and Elizabeth.  They are awesome and deserve many thanks!

Amberwell Shawl is available on Ravelry here.

Responses

  1. i JUST LOVE IT!

  2. Absolutely beautiful!

  3. Thank you for this beautiful pattern. It is certainly one on my “to try” list. I must also get the book Amberwell that you mentioned. As I am orignally from England and my mother was from Scotland, this certainly brings back memories.
    Thank you again.
    Hester

  4. […] Amberwell Shawl […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

