Posted by: spinnyknitter | January 2, 2012

Elizabeth R Shawl

Happy New Year everyone!

My last pattern of 2011 was published on the last day of the year.

A few months ago I told you in this post how I was lucky enough to be asked to design a shawlette for the Shakespeare in Lace Group on Ravelry.  Wooly Wonka Fibers and the Ravelry group offers a Lace Accessories Club as well as a Shawl Club each year.  I was asked to design a small shawl/shawlette for the January Accessories Club 2012.

I couldn’t show you any photos in that post but now that the kits have been mailed I can show you!  Meet Elizabeth R, inspired by Elizabeth the first.

Elizabeth R is an exclusive to the Shakespeare in Lace club until April and then it will be available for purchase and download on Ravelry.

 I had a great test knitter on the project, Susan aka Northwoodsdream on Ravelry.  Follow her link and take a look at her version in a gorgeous blue color way of Malabrigo sock.  Not only did she test knit the pattern in record time but she couldn’t show it to anyone until the kits were sent out.  Thanks Susan, for going above and beyond!

 

I have to mention the yarn which was kindly provided and dyed to order by Wooly Wonka Fibers.  It’s their sock yarn Nimue, a 50/50 Merino Silk blend that is so luscious to work with that you won’t want the project to end.  The color way Anne created for me is exactly what I had been envisioning for my design.  It reminds me of softly crinkled silk, aged to a buttery sheen.  After seeing my photo inspirations, Anne dyed my dream skein for this design, which really brought the shawl to life.

My fellow designer Shelly was kind enough to model for me and she did a fantastic job in showing off my design.  We spent a fun morning snapping photos and trying to get great shots to show off a few of our latest designs.  Shelly has a new hat and cowl pattern called Glowing Embers Hat and Cowl.   Here are a couple of my favourite photos of her latest design, taken the same day –

Happy New Year and thank you to all who follow my blog.  And many happy knitting hours for 2012.

Responses

  1. This is such a gorgeous pattern – I loved the intricate look and detail of it!

  2. […] an exclusive for the Shakespeare in Lace group but it is now available for sale on Ravelry.  Here is where I first wrote about the […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

