Posted by: spinnyknitter | February 24, 2012

Updates…

Recently I added another source for my pattern collection online at sandrasingh.com.  It is an impressive site that carries many choices of luxury yarns and the latest in patterns and knitting supplies.  Sandra has been very generous in supporting my pattern line and she has been awesome to work with too.

Sandra is offering a give away contest on her blog for three of my patterns and she has generously paired them with three of her yarns for each prize.  I was so happy to see that she had selected three of my favourite yarns – Malabrigo Sock, Malabrigo Silky Merino and Shibui Sock to accompany my patterns.  If you have been reading my blog then you know how I feel about Malabrigo!  And I more recently discovered how lovely Shibui Sock is to work with when I designed my Amberwell Shawl last summer.  I used it to knit the second version of the shawl and really loved it.  I will definitely be using more Shibui in the future.

So head on over to Sandra’s blog and get your name entered in the contest.  Don’t wait too long as the winners will be announced Friday March 2nd 2012!

Just in case you haven’t heard, if you live in the Vancouver BC area you might want to cancel your plans for tomorrow (Saturday February 25th) and drive on out to 88 Stitches Yarn Shop in Walnut Grove, Langley.  We are having our Annual Customer Appreciation Day and it is always very, very popular.

Check out the website for more details on the big discounts offered and Sue also has some really great door prizes planned.  It’s going to be a crazy and fun yarn day!  Hope you can join us!

And finally, thank you so much for your support of my new pattern Elowen! A few people have asked me how I came up with the name.

Elowen is a Cornish name and I have always had a soft spot for Cornwall.  My grandmother loved Cornwall and grew up in England.  She came to Canada as a young woman but she talked often of missing the rocky beaches and the smell of salt in the air.  She would visit the beaches here on the west coast of Canada whenever she could because she said it reminded her of home.

I came across the name Elowen by chance and loved the sound of it.  It’s pronounced (el O wan) and is based on elew, the Cornish word for “elm tree”.

It reminded me of my grandmother and childhood and summer days on the beach.  And it brought back a memory of standing on the beach as a child and watching my grandmother take long luxuriously deep inhales of air and then the smile that would light up her face…

Responses

  1. Judy thank you very much for your kind words, (you really have a great way with words too) and I’ve enjoyed working with you as well.


Leave a Reply

Categories

