Posted by: spinnyknitter | July 20, 2012

Rose Harbour Shawl

Another summery shawl for you today!  I enjoyed designing Summerside so much that I decided to do a another semi circular shawl before the summer passes us by.  I love this shape for hot weather, it sits gently on your shoulders without making you feel too smothered and I think it is perfect for a cool summer evening when the wind begins to blow a bit and those tanned shoulders need just a hint of warmth.

Rose Harbour Shawl is a semi circular shawl worked from the top down.  It has a deep lace border that is adjustable in depth to suit your yardage available and desired size.  The green version features 5 repeats of the lace pattern and is the perfect size for a summer shawl:  (blocked) 42 inches by 17 inches deep.  I really love the colorway, it’s Tosh Merino Light in Filagree.

I loved my first sample so much that I wanted to try a two color version.  At 88 Stitches Yarn Shop last friday we had some excitement in the shop, a delivery from MadelineTosh.  We have been waiting for Tosh Merino Light all summer and it had finally arrived!  To say we were excited is an understatement that only a knitter would understand.

It was so difficult deciding on which colorways should come home with me.  I wanted to adopt them all.  But I finally made my selection.  The day before I had blocked my first pattern sample for Rose Harbour using one of my cherished skeins of Tosh Merino Light from my stash and now I had multiple skeins of  this same yarn in front of me, begging to be knit with.  I choose two of the skeins, Cove and Badlands, and immediately began a second shawl with these two colors.  I think they work really well together.

For this one, I did 6 repeats of the lace pattern and ended up with a blocked size of 50 inches wide by 18 inches deep.

I especially love the little edging, it’s a variation of the picot bind off that I came up with to help with blocking.  There is a tiny hole above each picot that is perfect for blocking wires.  This makes it a breeze to block a nice smooth curved edge at the bottom of the shawl.

Rose Harbour Shawl is available on Ravelry.  Happy summer knitting.

Responses

  1. It’s BEA-U-TI-FUL! I’ll be knitting one of these in the very near future!! LOVE!

  2. Stunning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

