Posted by: spinnyknitter | October 1, 2012

Urban Forest Knits Collection

I’ve finished my ebook!  I began work on this project back in the spring and it has finally all come together.  I couldn’t be happier to present to you my Urban Forest Knits ebook.  It is a collection of five small accessory patterns for fall and winter.  First up, the Urban Forest Hat in sizing for big and little folk.   This hat looks good on every man, woman and child who has tried it on.  And everyone has loved that color!

I have to tell you about the yarns used in this collection.  When I was planning the collection, I wanted to use one yarn line, in coordinating colorways so everything would be harmonious.  I got my wish from Sweet Fiber Yarns.  I have chosen Melissa’s Cashmerino Line using both the worsted and the sock weights.  This yarn has always been one of my favourites and in her new colorways it is superb.  Thank you, Melissa!

The Urban Forest Hat is shown in the worsted weight, in the colorway Hippolyta.  My new favourite colorway!  In the photo above, it shows hints of pink and looks quite feminine.  But look at it below, the very same hat.

Decidedly masculine on a man!

And here’s the child’s version, shown in the colorway Luna.  Love!

I had so much fun with this design that I did a second hat, this time more feminine, for girls big and little, the Hollyburn Hat.  This time I used the fingering weight Cashmerino in the colorway Nocturnelle.  That little bit of contrast color is the leftover worsted yarn from the child’s Urban Forest Hat.

Here is the same hat on a child, it fits with a slight slouch to it.

I’ve included directions in this pattern to make a even slouchier version, here it is, shown in another yarn.

The Seawall Cowl is worked up in the Cashmerino worsted, colorway Black Currant.  This design is completely reversible, so no fussing about which side is showing.  It’s a great length, wear looped once on a cool day, or looped twice around the neck on a really cold one.

The Deep Cove Scarf is also done in the worsted weight yarn and back to my favourite Hippolyta colorway.  This piece is a rectangular scarf knit sideways for speed and it really does work up fast.

And lastly, my Tree Top Gloves, shown in the Cashmerino sock, colorway Black Currant, same as the Cowl.

Here are a few more shots of the collection, taken in Vancouver area parks during our glorious September weather.

A huge thank you to my family for being such good natured and awesome models.  And to Teresa, Gill, Elizabeth and Sue, thank you so much for test knitting these patterns for me.

The patterns are each sold separately or you may purchase the whole collection as the ebook Urban Forest Knits.

Responses

  1. Love your new collection….can’t wait to give the recommended yarn a try with your beautiful designs.

    • Thank you so much 🙂

  2. I live in Deep Cove so the name of your cowl immediately caught my eye! Lovely collection and photos.

    • Thanks, Shelley! Deep Cove must be a lovely place to live.


Leave a Reply

Categories

