Posted by: spinnyknitter | July 29, 2014

Breakwater Shawl

I hope your summer is going along swimmingly.  Here we are near the end of July, which in my part of the world means half way through summer.  Our summer started out wet and cold but has now become warm and sunny and I try to be outside as much as possible.

I have a new pattern for you today, the Breakwater Shawl, shown here in Swan’s Island Natural Colors Merino Fingering.  This is organic merino and a real pleasure to knit with.  And in this sunny shade of green, it seemed perfect for summer.

DSC_0016

 

The pattern is slightly asymmetrical in shape and design and features a beautful textural lace pattern forming the body of the shawl with a mirror image border.  It is cast on at one wing tip with a few stitches and then simply knit into a widening triangle.

DSC_0022

 

DSC_0026

 

The lace has patterning on the right side only and the size is very easily adjustable to the yardage available, making for stress free summer knitting.

I used a very gentle hand when blocking because I wanted to preserve the texture of the lace.

DSC_0012

DSC_0008

 

I’m also thinking down the road and imagining this worn as a cowl in the fall, wrapped around my neck and shoulders.

DSC_0003

Thank you to Teresa for test knitting the pattern for me.  I really appreciate her being so generous with her time!

Breakwater Shawl is available in my pattern shop on Ravelry.

 

Responses

  1. I am determined to live at least to 150 years old in order to knit half of the items I want to… this shawl is gorgeous. Thanks so much for another beauty!!!!

    • Thanks so much and I’ll keep you company, I’m going to live to 150 too! We can knit together!

      • … and we’ll do yoga– but not while knitting!!!!

    • Yoga while knitting might be interesting though…

  2. So exquisitely simple, striking and versatile.

    • Thanks, Barbara!


Leave a Reply

Categories

