Posted by: spinnyknitter | September 26, 2014

Three Skeins or Less

I designed a shawl last year for Tanis Gray to include in her book Three Skeins or Less Fresh Knitted Accessories.  I’m excited to show you the book and the shawl!

3 Skeins or Less - jacket art

3 Skeins or Less By Tanis Gray Interweave/F+W; $24.99

This is a really versatile collection of accessories that would make beautiful gifts, to others or to yourself.   And it might help reduce your stash too.

My design in the book, Leeside Shawl is slightly asymmetrical in shape and design but very simple to knit. It is cast on at one wing tip with a few stitches and simply knit into a widening triangle. The tiny lace border then turns the corner and becomes a sideways bind off. This shawl is simple to enlarge if you have extra yarn by repeating the last chart as many times as desired.

The yarn I used was Hazel Knits Artisanal sock in the colorway beach glass.  This yarn is wonderful to work with and the colour  is so beautiful!  It really did remind me of the beach and this helped to inspire the name of the piece.  This was my first time using this yarn and I’m now definitely a fan.  I can’t wait to work with more of those lush colourways.

DSC_0028

Tanis was awesome to work with and it was so much fun to see my design come to life in the pages of an Interweave book.  I’ve been a reader of Interweave books and magazines for a very long time, so it’s especially thrilling to me to have a design published with them.

DSC_0031

Responses

  1. That’s a lovely shawl. I like the combination of the different textures/stitch patterns.

    • Thanks so much 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

