Posted by: spinnyknitter | August 9, 2016

Neverland Shawl pattern

It’s been awhile but I am back with a new design – Neverland Shawl.  This design was inspired by the beautiful song Lost Boys by Ruth B.  Have a listen here.  I never get tired of this song and could listen to it over and over again.

IMG_6536

Neverland is a two color crescent shaped shawl worked from the top down.  The shawl features an easy garter stitch body, garter stripes, and a deep lace border.

Version 2

 

The lace has patterning only on the right side rows because I know you are like me and love those “rest” rows.

IMG_5799

This shawl comes in two sizes and lots of chances to play with your favourite colors.

 

IMG_6325

When I was working on the larger sample, I kept thinking it was going to be too large.  I began asking every knitter that I met about their size preferences for shawls.  I asked for feedback on my group on Ravelry.  And after practically everyone told me they loved their shawls BIG, I was finally convinced.  And once the sample was finished and I tried it on, I was completely in love with big shawls.  Who knew!

IMG_6107

The blue/green version is sport weight Malabrigo Arroyo, one of my favourite Malabrigo yarns.  And these two colors together are heaven.  They are Candombe (the blue/green) and Chircas (the heavenly olive green).  I used stash yarn for the blue picot bind off.  It’s done in size 1, which measures 66 inches wide and 19 inches deep.  Green is my favourite color, can you tell?

IMG_5394

The blue/grey version is fingering weight Tosh Merino Light, another of my favourite yarns.  The colors shown are Plunge ( blue) and El Greco (grey).  This sample is size 2, and measures 78 inches wide by 19 inches deep.

IMG_6351

A huge thank you to everyone who contributed to this design.

The photos were taken by Sylvia Bo Bilvia and I am in love with them.  She really captured my inspiration behind the design and created a story for the design with her photos.

The model in these shots is Nicola Hodges, who makes modelling seem easy, which it is not.  But she makes it seem so, with her relaxed manner and easy going style.

IMG_5667

I would also like to thank Ashwini for her Technical editing skills.  It is with her help that I attempt to write concise, clear patterns.

I was lucky enough to have Teresa test knit this pattern, and as always, I am grateful for her time and advice.

All the remaining details of the pattern may be found on the pattern page on Ravelry.

Happy end of summer knitting!  Take some time to sit in the sun and knit this month…..

IMG_6487

 

Responses

  1. These photos are wonderful! They really show off the beautiful shawl!

    • They are great, aren’t they! I’m really pleased with how they turned out.

  2. Judy these are absolutely beautiful! Thank you for opting for a larger version, they’re my favourite, too!

    • Thank you, Susan! Big shawls are a new favourite of mine now too.


Leave a Reply

Categories

