Posted by: spinnyknitter | December 23, 2014

Fika Scarf

Fika is a swedish word pronounced FEE-ka.  It means a social coffee break, usually accompanied by something sweet to eat such as sweet buns, cake, or tarts. And this is what inspired my latest design, the Fika Scarf.  The little rounded edging reminds me of cookies, cinnamon buns, and fluted pie crusts.  And the easy, stocking stitch body allows you to take a little break, an easy little pause in the pattern, during which you could chat or think about sweet things.

DSC_0012 DSC_0011

The Fika scarf is a wide, shallow triangle that may be worn as a cowl, a scarf or a shawl. It’s a very versatile little accessory. It is asymmetrical in shape and design, with one wing tip longer than the other. Cast on at one wing tip with a few stitches and then simply knit into a shallow triangle, with the lace border knit along with the rest of the work.

DSC_0020

When it is the size you wish, turn the corner with the lace border and work a sideways bind off to finish. It is easily adjustable to any size or yarn.

DSC_0017

The pattern includes both charts and written instructions.

DSC_0045

Many thanks to Teresa, for test knitting the pattern for me. You’re the best, Teresa! Blocked size of the sample shown above: 54” wide by 15” deep.  Shown made with one skein of Tosh Merino Light in the colorway Sequoia. And look, I made my first sample using some of my handspun. This was polwarth/silk I purchased from Three Waters Farm.  I love the diagonal stripes that happen.

DSC_0035

DSC_0026

DSC_0029

Fika Scarf is available in my pattern shop on Ravelry. I hope you like my last design of the year and that you are all able to meet up with friends and family to fika over the holidays. Cheers Judy

Responses

  1. How lovely! And here am I on the midst of the Cedar Grove KAL when I want to drop everything and make this. Perhaps I will wait just a few more days in case Santa has stopped at the LYS!

    • Thanks, Mary! And I heard that Santa visits every LYS without fail 🙂

  2. Gorgeous pattern and who doesn’t love Three waters Farm?

    • Thanks, Carolyn! Three Waters Farm is wonderful, totally agree 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

